Humility

Humility is just as much the opposite of self abasement as it is of self exaltation. To be humble is not to make comparisons. Secure in it’s reality, the self is neither better nor worse, bigger or smaller, than anything else in the universe. It is – is nothing, yet at the same time is one with everything. 
Dag Hammarskjold

To be humble is not to make comparisons. I  like the freedom implied in this quote. I seem to shackle myself to comparisons. My perfectionism has been a form of protection, a characteristic of my narcissism, where I’m comparing myself to others or to some ideal, trying to get “it” right, or win. And I do the opposite sometimes, withdrawing or not participating if my odds of coming out on top aren’t good. It’s a source of ongoing stress and certainly the opposite of serenity. It occurs to me that it’s grandiose to think, “I’m not enough. I’m not good enough.” There’s very little humility in that utterance.

Excerpt from  Experiencing Spirituality: Finding Meaning Through Storytelling by Ernest Kurtz

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

