Taking Time to Respond

I thought this was a cute story about listening, priorities,  and being a mom: 

The mother was at the kitchen sink, washing the intricate parts of the cream separator and the little boy came to see her with the magazine. 

“Mother,” he asked, “what is this man in the picture doing?”

To my surprise she dried her hands set down on a chair, and, taking the boys in her lap, she spent the next few minutes answering his questions. After the child had left, I commented on her having interrupted her chores to answer the boy’s question, saying, “most mothers wouldn’t have.”

“I expect to be washing cream separators for the rest of my life,” she told me, “but never again will my son ask me that question.”

Excerpt from Experiencing Spirituality: finding meaning through storytelling by Ernest Kurtz

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Taking Time to Respond

  1. Jan Morrill says:

    This is such a sweet story. I know I didn’t stop washing when I should have as a mom, but I’ll do better as a grandma. 🙂

Leave a Reply

